• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Who really is the best teacher?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
edbrass

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

So, you're looking for a great education in music. Specifically, you want to be a trumpet major. (Why else would you be here?!)

Are you attracted to big name schools with big name professors? Why?

A very wise former professor of mine once asked me if I would like the opportunity to study with Wynton Marsalis. I said "yes!"

"I wouldn't," said he. "I would rather study with Wynton's teacher."

And what of big name professors? I went to a small college with a reputable but non-celebrity faculty. A friend of mine went to a big name school with big name professors. My friend thought that she had made the wiser decision.

I graduated on time with distinction and a solid foundation in this wondrous art. My friend did not. She had more credits to complete after a transfer to a smaller school. It seems that she had become a face in the crowd. And for the big name professors, she never saw them - just their TA's.

Just deep thoughts for you all to ponder. DISCLAIMER: I am not invoking a war of words, for I know plenty who were well educated at some big name schools. But for those with different learning preferences, this post may make perfect sense.
mafields627
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Tue Mar 04, 2003 5:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Find a big time teacher who is at a smaller school. Example: Leonard Candelaria at UAB. The only downside in his case is that one doesn't know how long he will be there.

No representation is made that the quality of this post is greater than the quality of that of any other poster. Oh, and get a teacher!
robert_white
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Wed Mar 05, 2003 8:50 am    Post subject: Reply with quote