• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Is there a high note method that consistently works?

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> High Range Development
View previous topic :: View next topic  
cmac3317
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:20 pm    Post subject: Is there a high note method that consistently works? Reply with quote

I'm a DMA student who plays a lot of "legit" and commercial/lead stuff, and I've been very happy with how my playing has been developing over the past few years. However, one thing I can't seem to open up is my extreme high range (above high G/G#/A). I took a lesson with Roger Ingram and tried the yoga breath thing for awhile (which did help a little), but I eventually got sick of all the head rushes that resulted from that. I tried the Cat Anderson method, but never kept with it beyond the warm-up 20-minute "whisper G," as that seemed to hurt my playing (in the form of soreness and consistent airballing on higher notes, although I'm sure I was doing it right... as one friend put it, "why would you run a marathon before you race all day?")... Is there a high-note method out there that works without being painful and/or unhealthy? I'd really like to get up to a consistent double-C (and anything above that would be cool too ), and I definitely have the drive to stick with a method if it doesn't seem to be hurting me or my playing (and I am completely unwilling to sacrifice my "legit" sound and technique for range). I'd appreciate any comments... Thanks

www.christianmcivormusic.com
cinci-sop
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu Sep 17, 2009 5:49 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote