• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Practice while at work?

Goto page 1, 2  Next

View previous topic :: View next topic  
fuzzyjon79
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 5:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Just curious to see how many, if any, people are able to practice at their workplace? Obviously if you're a band directory or play professionally for a living then the answer would be yes, but are there any people outside the music business that are able to practice while they're at work? I'm a computer tech and find some down time here and there to take my horn to work and practice while no one is around. Anyone else?
stukvalve
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 6:36 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeah man! i work at the giftshop at the hilton in downtown jacksonville.
the job is cake. i sit behind a counter, and i will go sometimes one to two hours without seeing anyone. i practice there all the time. sometimes ill take my harmon mute out and just play like im at a hall at school. its a great feeling to be on the clock and just be practicing.

matzentrpt@hotmail.com
_trumpetgod_02
Heavyweight Member

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 8:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Hey,

Yeah man! I used to work at Sam Ash in the Band & Orchestral Dept. They almost encouraged it. It would bring in some of the people that "didn't quite know we sold band stuff". Attracted some people back our way. Made it easy to sell some MPC's that way too.

Nick
_Don Herman
'Chicago School' Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 11:15 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I practice in my truck outside when I can. Inside would be a problem (no soundproofing, and dropped ceilings with nice resonant space above to send the sound from one end to the other).
Palestrina
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Thu May 15, 2003 11:18 am    Post subject: Reply with quote