• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Dangerous Work Amongst the High Seas...

View previous topic :: View next topic  
joyzeegirl

PostPosted: Wed Feb 10, 2010 12:54 pm    Post subject: Dangerous Work Amongst the High Seas... Reply with quote

Hello People of Trumpet Herald!

I'm new to Trumpet Herald, but I came across this forum topic and really felt the need to throw some of my cents/experience in, if I may....

I currently work for a cruiseline(think Circus) as a trumpet player. A lot of the showbands on these ships are 7-piece format, therefore only one trumpet spot. Been doing it for a few years. Now I'm classically trained, but I could hold my own as far as playing lead. I'm no Maynard, but it's there.

Now back in September, I get onto a ship where the Musical Director is a sadist, basically. (Mind you, he DOES play trombone, a brass instrument...) He makes us play 5-7 hours a day, 5 days a week. This is NOT a joke. And not only that, I was having to fill the roles of both lead and 2nd player--you know what that means...Having to play both lead AND soloing. A lot. And his mentality was that if HE could do it, so should everyone else. And if you didn't want to solo, or needed to take things down, he would dock you on your record, and threaten that you should leave the ship.(This is no joke either, it really happened.)