• FAQ  • Search  • Memberlist  • Usergroups   • Register   • Profile  • Log in to check your private messages  • Log in 

Hindemith and Voisin

Goto page 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7  Next

Post new topic   Reply to topic    trumpetherald.com Forum Index -> Orchestral/Chamber Music/Solo
View previous topic :: View next topic  
natemayfield
Veteran Member

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 1:23 am    Post subject: Hindemith and Voisin Reply with quote

Comment deleted. All information will be compiled into a new book on the Hindemith Trumpet Sonata by Nathaniel Mayfield.
www.natemayfield.com

Last edited by natemayfield on Mon Aug 15, 2011 1:49 am; edited 2 times in total
trpt.hick
Rafael Méndez Forum Moderator

PostPosted: Tue Aug 17, 2010 6:55 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Nate,

I, too, am confused by the tempo indications. When I studied with Roger in 1974, he told me that he performed it informally at Tanglewood during the summer of 1940 (his first year as a teacher there), a year after the piece was penned by Hindemith. He talked about how the half-note was to get the beat in the first movement, and how Hindemith (a decent pianist, although viola was his main instrument) struggled to play it, even though he he got most of it. Roger pointed out to me how this makes the shifting meters feel like true odd meters.

When playing the trumpet part only, this makes perfect sense! However, I have yet to find a pianist that can actually play the piano part at half-note = 96-100. Considering that Hindemith wrote all of his sonatas as "useful" music, it seems hard to believe that he thought pianists everywhere could play it at that speed.

I had dinner with Voisin and his family during the ITG conference in Amhurst, just a few months before he died. Roger was still as sharp as a tack! I specifically asked him about this piece again. He confirmed everything I had remembered him saying.